The fourth of July is known to see an elevated amount of DUI arrests due to the large number of people out partying with friends, watching fireworks and deciding to drive home afterwards. The cops are well aware of the fact that many people are willing to risk driving after drinking and they have decided to bring out a large fleet of officers to enforce the rules of the road.
In Colorado Springs, the legal limit for someone to drive with alcohol in their system is a .08 BAC(blood alcohol content). Reaching this limit only takes a few drinks and can quickly leave you with a tough decision of whether to drive or not. We recommend you always take caution and call a cab or ride share company to give you a ride if you are unsure whether you are okay to drive or not. If you need some extra convincing, just read our article on Colorado DUI laws, penalties & BAC charts and you’ll know exactly why you shouldn’t drink and drive.
So far in 2020 there have been 66 fatalities on Colorado roads that involved a driver that was impaired due to alcohol or other substances. Last year, there were 311 arrests made in Colorado for drunk driving related charges within a 4 day period of increased DUI patrols. Officers are encouraging the use of smartphone app breathalyzers to help you make informed decisions about driving after drinking. Many DUI offenders are tempted to drive drunk while on probation but the data show that ignition interlocks prevent drunk driving accidents which is why they are so commonly installed these days.
With all of the technology, gadgets and resources readily available to anyone with a smartphone these days, there really is no reason for anyone to drink and drive. You can use a smartphone app that can test your breath for alcohol content or even purchase a key chain breathalyzer gadget to blow into. These devices are typically pretty cheap around $100 dollars or less, which is much cheaper than the cost of a misdemeanor or felony DUI charge. You can also study up on our Colorado BAC Charts so you have a better idea of how many drinks is too many.
Your next option is to call a taxi or a ride share service like Uber or Lyft. Taxis are well known for not showing up on time or even at all, so we recommend using a ride share service. Their fees are very reasonable as you can get a ride from one side of Colorado Springs to the other for around $20. Knowing that a DUI charge can cost you thousands in legal fees and much more after dealing with a suspended drivers license and any probationary measures the court imposes on you, spending $20 on a safe and sober ride is a no brainer. Not to mention that drunk driving is a public safety risk that we should all be taking very seriously.
At some point, most people have driven when they thought they were okay to drive and sometimes you get pulled over during those incidents. If that happened to you or you ended up getting stopped at a sobriety checkpoint, get in touch with Rector Stuzynski LLC right away. We have been defending DUI charges for our clients for decades and helped many people get better results than they would have achieved fighting the court system on their own.
Don’t become another statistic in Colorado’s long list of DUI offenders. We all have a responsibility to keep our roads safe by making decisions that are beneficial to us and our neighbors. We at Rector Stuzynski LLC hope that you take all necessary precautions in avoiding a DUI, DUID or DWAI charge, but in the event that you have been arrested, we are here to help you get the best possible outcome with your case. We offer free consultations and treat every client with compassion. Call (719) 578-1106 today to speak with one of our DUI attorneys.
We serve clients charged with crimes anywhere throughout the state of Colorado, but we focus on residents of these areas: Colorado Springs, Manitou Springs, Fountain, Briargate, Monument, Black Forest, Pueblo, Canon City, Larkspur, Security-Widefield, Peyton, Castle Rock, Teller County, El Paso County, Elbert County, Park County, Douglas County and beyond.