You’ve just been involved in a minor car accident. There is damage to both vehicles, but it’s not too bad. In this situation, you may be wondering how long should you wait before reporting your car accident, or if it’s even worth reporting to begin with. You may also be wondering how long you have to file a lawsuit or collect damages. Even in minor accidents, it is rare that you would be advised not to report the accident to your insurance company. Remember – even if the damage isn’t that bad, you are still liable for the damages you caused to another person or another person’s property. Even if the accident is not your fault, your insurance company should be notified.
How long you wait depends largely on how injured you are and whether you are physically able to contact your insurance company right away. Most insurance companies have 24 hour claims hotlines and apps that will let you report the accident immediately. As soon as you are able, you should contact your insurance company and read through your policy carefully.
Immediately after you contact your insurance company, your next call should be to an experienced attorney. Your attorney will need to review the details of your case and determine if you are eligible to file a claim. In addition, never sign any settlements with the insurance company before first speaking to your lawyer. You may not be getting the money you need to fully pay for all your medical bills, lost wages, and future expenses.
In the state of Colorado, accident victims have 3 years from the date of the motor vehicle accident to file a claim. This is known as the statute of limitations, and if you miss this deadline, you could be prevented from ever filing a claim. Time begins ticking away on the date of the accident, so don’t delay. Your attorney can help you avoid missing any critical deadlines.
Lawsuits are the exception not the rule. Your lawyer will be able to review your case, investigate your accident, and negotiate a fair settlement with the insurance company. If the insurance company fails to adequately cover damages or if there is debate regarding liability, your attorney will review all of your legal options with you. If you choose to file a lawsuit, your nearby car accident attorney will be there every step of the way.
We serve clients injured anywhere throughout the state of Colorado, but we focus on residents of these areas: Colorado Springs, Manitou Springs, Fountain, Briargate, Monument, Black Forest, Pueblo, Canon City, Larkspur, Security-Widefield, Peyton, Castle Rock, Teller County, El Paso County, Elbert County, Park County, Douglas County and beyond.